Sunday, June 8, 2014

Reviews: Series Endings

As series begin, so must they end. Here are three reviews of recently released (or in the case of Mortal Heart, soon to be released) series finales! They answer questions for which we’ve been impatiently waiting, mostly to our pleasure. Don’t worry, no spoilers!

Dreams of Gods and Monsters—Laini Taylor
Daughter of Smoke and Bone series

Released April 8, 2014

The most spectacular aspect of this book (and the series) is Taylor’s words and descriptions. They’re outstandingly descriptive, detailed, precise and PERFECT. Her style, explaining everything so thoroughly and with the best words, is hers and hers alone. Most other writers would have written the same book in half the pages but Dreams of Gods and Monsters is over 600 pages. It’s unbelievably in-depth. We experience the 72 hours after the Dominion’s arrival to Earth with Karou and Akiva in exquisite detail. I gasped audibly twice but I won’t divulge why as they’re MAJOR SPOILERS. But suffice to say they are amazing, heart-wrenching surprises. This series is the epitome of YA fantasy! I can’t wait to see what Laini Taylor writes next!


The One—Kiera Cass
The Selection series

Released May 6, 2014

This book answers the ultimate question: Aspen or Maxon? Don’t worry, I won’t spoil it for you, but The One (as well as the rest of the series) is about America finding herself and her soulmate. As the end approached, I could sense who America was going to chose and the story became more about overcoming their misunderstandings and admitting their love. Truthfully, I felt a lot of the misunderstandings could have been solved by simple communication, but America and *whomever* are young. One of the best moments of the book was America’s solution when sentencing the thief to punishment, as forced on her and the rest of the Elite by the king. It was a creative surprise which really made me respect America. In the darkness of dystopia, this series is a fun, shining light.


Mortal Heart—Robin LaFevers
His Fair Assassin series

To be released November 4, 2014

The third book in His Fair Assassin series focuses on Annith and her journey of breaking free from the abbess who aims to imprison her. I loved that in Ismae’s and Sybella’s stories of Annith, she was always “Saint Annith” but when I got inside her head, I saw she was just as stubborn and rebellious as the other girls, if not more so. When Annith escapes to find her own way, a mysterious and dark man named Balthazar saves her in the forest. I loved his slow, ebbing march into Annith’s life, especially since he’s the strong, quiet, brooding type. One of the best features of this series is how strong the girls are—strong in faith yet strong enough to stand up to the abbess when they see she’s doing wrong. This series is a historical fantasy gem. I’m curious to see what LaFevers has in the works for the future!

Happy summertime!

No comments:

Post a Comment